Are you pioneering African women actively contributing to impactful change in development? Seize the opportunity to be internationally recognized and celebrated!

African Women in Development (AWID) Awards 2024
African Women in Development (AWID) Awards 2024

The Donors for Africa Foundation proudly presents the fifth edition of the African Women in Development (AWID) Awards, a prestigious initiative honoring the remarkable contributions of African women working on any of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) across the continent.

About AWID

AWID serves as a beacon of recognition, spotlighting the often-overlooked heroes – African women who are leading the charge in driving global development initiatives. Organized by the Donors for Africa Foundation, this campaign goes beyond mere acknowledgment; it aims to amplify the stories and achievements of women who act as catalysts for change in their communities and beyond.

The initiative also seeks to discover lesser-known women who are transforming their communities. Previous awardees include Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Ndidi Nwuneli, Former Liberia President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Wife of Ekiti State Governor Erelu Bisi Adeleye-Fayemi, Kiki Mordi, Ini Abimbola, Sarah Lagot, Hauwa Ojiefor, Chisom Obi-Jeff, Jokate Mwegelo, and Sahle-Work Zwede, among others.


The AWID Awards offer more than just accolades; they open doors to unparalleled opportunities. Past recipients have experienced increased visibility, formed partnerships with global brands, and secured positions on prestigious advisory boards. Your success story could inspire countless others and pave the way for even more significant achievements.


They are seeking outstanding African women activists, change-makers, government representatives, team members, and social entrepreneurs who create tangible impacts and drive progress toward the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Whether leading grassroots movements, spearheading innovative projects, or influencing policy at the highest levels, your dedication and passion deserve recognition – you are eligible to apply.

Deadline: March 10, 2024



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here