The Federal Government NUC has approved the establishment of two new universities, bringing the total number of private universities in the country to 149 and the overall number of universities to 274.


The approved institutions are Lighthouse University in Evbuobanosa, Edo State, and the African School of Economics in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja.

Join our Telegram Channel for Updates

Join our Telegram Channel for Updates

The Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman, announced the approval during the presentation of Provisional Licences to the two universities in Abuja. He mentioned that the approval was granted by President Bola Tinubu at the December 13, 2023 Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The minister advised the proprietors of the universities to include skills and entrepreneurship courses in their curriculum, aligning with the current priorities of the government.

He explained that a substantive license would be issued to the universities three years after the probation period if they meet quality assurance requirements. However, he cautioned that provisional licenses might be withdrawn after the probation period if the universities fail to meet the full requirements.

Mamman emphasized the urgency of preparing for the country’s growing population and welcomed partnerships with the private sector for funding and infrastructural development in the education sector.

He urged the universities to maintain high standards and invest in infrastructure, teaching and learning equipment, and human resources to earn full accreditation.

The Acting Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Chris Maiyaki, emphasized the importance of private universities in preventing the proliferation of illegal universities or degree mills.

He encouraged the institutions to familiarize themselves with the code of governance for private universities and stressed that establishing private universities is a social service and a journey of passion.