Several affiliate unions followed the joint directive from the Nigeria Labour Unions Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress (TUC) to start an indefinite nationwide strike at midnight on June 3, 2024.

Senate pleads with labor unions to end the strike
Senate pleads with labor unions to end the strike

The strike was prompted by the Federal Government’s refusal to raise the proposed minimum wage from N60,000 and reverse the electricity tariff hike to N65/kWh.

Join our Telegram Channel for Updates

Join our Telegram Channel for Updates

NLC President Joe Ajaero and TUC President Festus Osifo expressed disappointment over the government’s failure to pass a new National Minimum Wage Act. The government’s offer of N60,000 was rejected by the Labour Unions, leading to the breakdown of negotiations last Tuesday.

Here is the list of affiliate unions participating in the strike, which began on Monday:

  1. Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU)
  2. Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria
  3. National Union of Electricity Employees
  4. National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees
  5. Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria
  6. Joint Union Action Committee
  7. Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT)
  8. National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives
  9. Joint Health Sector Unions
  10. Amalgamated Union of Public Corporation, Civil Service Technical and Recreational Services Employees
  11. National Union of Civil Engineering, Construction, Furniture and Wood Workers
  12. Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria (MHWUN)
  13. National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG)
  14. Nigeria Union of Railway Workers
  15. Nigeria Civil Service Union
  16. Association of Nigeria Aviation Professionals
  17. Academic Staff Union of Colleges of Agriculture
  18. Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU)
  19. Senior Staff Association of Statutory Corporations and Government-Owned Companies
  20. Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASAN)
  21. Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ)
  22. Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Polytechnic
  23. National Union of Food, Beverage and Tobacco Employees
  24. Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE)
  25. Iron and Steel Senior Staff Association of Nigeria
  26. National Union of Air Transport Employees
  27. Air Transport Services Senior Staff Association of Nigeria
  28. National Association of Aircraft Pilots and Engineers
  29. National Union of Postal and Telecommunication Employees
  30. Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria (PASAN)
  31. Senior Staff Association of Teaching Hospitals
  32. Research Institutes and Associated Institutions